Between gate and what?

I learned that in flash memory capacitor is incorporated in transistor. As a capacitor a thin oxide film is set between the gate and…a part showed in red dotted circle.

What is this area called?

As I did not know what is this area called, in the next lecture I asked the professor about it.

“The substrate,” was the answer.

Now I can write that in flash memory a thin oxide film is set between the gate and the substrate of each transistor.

Between gate and substrate

This film is called a floating gate.

In fact I would like to explain what I learn with fewer schematic pictures as possible, in order to train myself in expression in English. Using pictures I could explain the things without words, that’s not what I intend to in my blog. But in today’s topic it was too difficult to carry on without pictures.

Leave a Reply

