My Name

Everything that occurs in the world has a reason. My account bibuji is no Japanese. I have created this arrangement of letters by typing “noniko” with shifting the home position on the keyboard by one key leftward.

Namely, noniko was what I had often used for my account. But recently noniko has come to be very famous that it had often been registered by someone on creating my new account in various sites. On the other hand, I have never failed to create a new account by bibuji. So now I don’t try the account noniko any more but bibuji, or prefixbibujisuffix
.

Noniko is my nickname. It was confirmed when I was a university student. Before that I had not been called by any nicknames. One of the reason was my name Miki was too handy. My family called me just Miki-chan. And I had always very few friends at school. I seem to have been thought by my classmates “a strange person.” I had not been bullied by anyone, but everyone, whether a boy or a girl, called me by last name by “Nozawa-san.” I did not feel that so seriously, because there were indeed many kind classmates to have fun or overcome difficulties together, who only did not call me by first name nor nickname.

It was at last in the university that I was asked by my classmates “Say, how can I call you?”
I got worried, as I had not been accustomed to be called other than “Nozawa-san.” So I created by myself an additional name “Roniko”, after the name of Ronnie James Dio, whom I liked very much (He went to heaven in 2010). “Ko” was a famous suffix or Japanese woman at that time, like Hanako, Yoshiko, Junko, though it seems unfavored by recent young parents.

“OK, just let us call you Noniko!” they said.
It is often said Japanese have difficulties in telling difference between r and l, but it is indeed more serious problem that we often confuse within our mother tongue between n and r.
I didn’t mind being called Noniko, though. I was much satisfied to have got a nickname.

By the way, I assume that the recent increasing demand for the name noniko might be from eastern Asian region, because once a Japanese singer named Noriko had basked in a great popularity, and then got involved a big scandal. I would like to refer not to that singer’s affair, but to another effect of aural similarity between n and r in our mother language.

Leave a Reply

