Home Networking

For my work, life and study, internet connection is vital.

At the end of march, I have got a new broadband internet service.
The infra had been already prepared in the building to which my room is located.
All I need was to be provided with the modem from the service company, NTT.
Based on the name of the technology with which this modem works, let me call this VDSL modem, when necessary.

In most of all cases on introducing internet connection in each house, the modem is connected to the socket on the wall, which is further attached to the cable outside.
In my room, this cable is for telephone wire, for VSDL uses a telephone wire to send/receive the data.

As the modem has a socket for LAN cable, you will connect the modem and PC with it.
Then, from the computer (through a specific client application, or more likely nowadays, a web browser) you will send the login data to the internet service provider.

If you want to make several machines at home connected to internet at the same time, you will need a router with multiple LAN sockets, or more likely an wireless router which enables wireless communication.
Then the router is connected to the Modem with LAN cable, and PCs are connected to the router.
In this case it is the router which sends the login data to the ISP, despite you will operate your PC as a console.

For a few days since the modem began to work. I enjoyed this topography of connection.
Then I came to a need for a “fixed and wired” phone.

If you have already a landline phone service, you might share a single modular socket with the phone and the modem, using some device called splitter or separator….
But I was not at all sure about that.

I rather had a strong impression, if a conventional telephone call and internet connection were mixed, something wrong would happen, noises, conflicts, panic, etc…..

So I decided to use an IP phone as the second best solution.
NTT runs an IP phone as an optional service for the internet connection.
“Yes, we would have you use our router for IP phone, which enables you to share the connection with your phone and PCs,” said the support person of NTT, as I asked her (through the mobile phone) about it.

“May I send you a service engineer to prepare it, or would you prepare it by yourself, when we send you only the device? ”
“I would,” I said.
“Then the device would reach you a few days before we start the service.”

Today it was delivered and I started setting it up.
Then a question came to my mind. It was a router which was delivered today. I had already used a wireless router. Could I use both?

“OK, I will start from the simplest arrangement I can figure out”
Then I connected the devices in this order. phone socket on the wall – VDSL modem – IP phone router – wireless router – PC.
The PC could not access web pages.

Next, I connected my PC directly to the IP phone router and send the login data for the ISP, through the management console ( in fact the console required such data, before I hit the idea. )

Then my PC could open web pages via wireless LAN!

I still wondered, though. “which connects directly to the ISP, the IP phone router, or the wireless router? ”
Googling for a while, I found my present connction had been much unstable. both routers seemed to ask the ISP for its IP address.

It must have been very bad. My conenction should have been only temporary available, because the IP phone service had not yet started.

I googled again and found, most of wireless routers, including mine, had a switch to stop the routing service and only work an access point, simply collecting data on wave and pass them via cable to another device running the routing service.

It was so simple. Only I did was to change the mechanical switch of the former “router.”

In this way I could take the new IP phone router in my LAN, keeping the wireless LAN available.

It was lucky that the present wireless “access point” had been already set WPA encryption when it was working as a router.
Being disabled as a router, it cannot be accessed from PCs via management console any more. If you change its configuration, you must turn the switch again to restore its routing service.

This story of my adventure has not been ended: would anything happen when the IP phone service indeed start the day after tomorrow? Of cource I myself wish this long story would not be continued.

Leave a Reply

