Towel

For the scene of today’s picture I had two options. I opened the Bible (online) to search, where in the Bible those two scenes were written. The following of the two came out at the first click on the Books list.

Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God; so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist.(John 13:3-4)

I took the scene as that Jesus realized he would soon go away from his disciples, so he wanted to take care of them for the last time in the world. I don’t think he only wanted to teach them to wash their feet each other, but he himself wanted to do that, because I imagine he should have loved them .

First I was going to draw Jesus alone, apart from the disciples, enjoying the meals without knowing at all what would happen soon later.

Then I change my mind.
Or the Lord might have told me, “Behold, my students loved me more than that you imagine.”

Right. they must have always followed their Lord not only on foot but also with their eyes. At the time Jesus stood up and took his garment, they must have been watching him in wonder.

Then I realized. I had only thought his disciples had left them alone in his enemies’ hands. But why should I not think that they had been left alone in disappointment by their Lord? How would we feel if the one whom we had respected and yield of our hope unto let himself accused, despised and destructed without any defense?

Jesus had realized he was going to throw them away. He knew they needed to be, because they were his students and needed to be acquainted with grief. Thus he wanted to wash their feet to comfort them – so I imagine.

Leave a Reply

